Korean cooking forum topics
hmmmm… I wonder if there is anyone out there that interested to supply the Halal Korean Ingredients/Korean Foods, especially online….International…. with Halal certificate, made your product become worldwide…… it’s not only the muslim can buy it, but of course the nonmuslim will also can buy it…. If only I had a lot of money, I’ll try to open one… hehehe… is there anyone?
It’s seem so hard to find Halal Korean Ingredients/Korean Foods….
and I’m so sure, that there are a lot of muslim would like to try these Korean Cuisine…. but in halal version…..
Korean foods is so interesting…. looks so deliciously…
(….sorry for the bad grammar…)
I’m also sticking to a halal-diet and I don’t find it difficult to cook Korean food because most of the ingredients are vegetarian or based on seafood, at least the most important things like spices etc. Probably the Muslims in Korea have there own brands and shops, but most likely it’s not exported to the rest of the world <3
Hi Anna N,
Hmmm… me too wondered what’s brands and shop that korean muslims use and buy…. if that I can find a korean muslim, I’ll ask about this… it a must ^_^
Anna_N is right. There are some halal food shops over Itaewon in Korea, but I’m not sure they sell it it worldwide.
Cikjijah, thank you so much for your information. I’ve been at aeon tebrau, johor bharu, but never seen the halal kimchi. This is a great new! But ipoh is very far away from my hometown…. hmmm… got to go there one day…. huhuhu…..♡♡♡♡
I’m half Korean grew up with a Korean mom and live in the US. I am a Muslim and my husband and I stick to halal only. When addressing halal Korean food first most if not all of the essential ingredients are either vegetable or seafood in origin. The only time you run into problems is when you go to Korean processed foods such as ramen, mandu, soup bases, some cookies and crackers. In addition almost all Korean recipes can be tweaked to be made halal. For instance. When I was pregnant with my daughter I started craving Korean food like nuts. Mostly kimchi pancakes ( which I craved during both of my pregnancies), but what I really wanted was rice cake soup. Before I got pregnant it had when over 12 yrs since I had rice cake soup. The issue was that the soup base of rice cake soup is beef bone based. Our halal store didn’t carry the type of bones you needed to make it so I did research on how to make a vegetarian option. Basically you chop up daikon ( Korean radish) into cubs, a yellow onion, and chunk up 2 carrots place in a large soup pot w 10-12 cups of water and boil for 30-40 minutes . Remove all the veggies and place in a cheese cloth or a new clean dig cloth and squeeze the water out into the soup pot. You either can eat the smushed veggies or discard. You can use this soup base to substitute for any of the meat broths for soups. Kimchi is not made w pork or any meat produces just pickled seafood usually shrimp. The reality is the Korean diet is heavily vegetable based w a small amount of meat. Now a days because of wealth people can afford meat. My mom even told me kimchi stew was traditionally made w beef not pork and that is how I make it.
Hai Habepte…… thank you so much for your information… it’s really helpful. .. you have your mother as a reference of course…. hehehe….
Hai Asyuraz… I’ve never buy the gochujang because I doubt if it halal or not… though it have the list of the ingredients. .. hermmmm… I’ve been study about how to make it, but find a difficulty with finding the ingredients…. huhuhu….
The Gochujang’s brand is listed as one of producers that produces Halal products, accroding to MIHAS 2014 which I attended. Only few brands are recognized by Jakim; Nongshim, Lotte and that gochujang’s brand and few others. That kimchi brand is so effective, they managed to get Jakim’s halal cert.
But please bear in mind, no halal stickers doesn’t mean it’s not halal. You may google the ingredients. As long it is free from non-halal elements, you may eat it :)
It’s possible that they’re not halal, even if sold on halal sections.
I bought and used the Daesang brand of Ssamjang/Gochujang recently, from local grocers, thinking that the ingredients list was OK. Like Hanihakim said, just cause it’s not halal certified, doesn’t mean it’s not halal.
But out of curiosity, I’ve just discovered the detailed ingredients of this particular brand – it contains rice wine or spirit. Since I don’t have proof that their Malaysian products are made any differently, I’ll just take it as shown.
So I’ve thrown it out, and will look for better alternatives. :)
There’s a Halal Korean Restaurant, Dobuyo (http://www.dubuyo.com/). Maybe the staff can help if ask for help :-) . Also look up the ingredients in Groceria – It’s a Halal supermarket.
For Gochujang, our dear Maangchi had shown a video on how to make it. There’s a video online about how gochujnag is made traditionally (Taste of Wisdom Ep03 Gochujang, the Biting Flavor of Korea 야무진 한국의 맛, 고추장). There’s a recipe online by Lia Rustka for a quick substitute of gochujang.
I always take my Muslim friends to Dobuyo.
I am Jewish and keep kosher, so there are even more ingredients I cannot use, for example shrimps and mussels, some kinds of fish and of course pork.
I see it as a fun challenge to change Maangchi’s recipes to make them kosher and it works well. The Maangchi Gochujang-recipe is kosher and in this case also halal. I tried a version using red bean paste instead of the malt powder although malt is not an issue at all, I just happened not to have that stuff ready at hand.
In fact I am glad that there is not a lot of kosher convenience food in Germany, where I live. That way I make most of the food myself and have control over the ingredients. More healthy, more fun, more awareness about the whole food / eating process. I wish you great cooking experiences,
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Copyright © Maangchi LLC.
All rights reserved.