EoghannP

EoghannP's comments

"Hello, Hadster: I am a home-cook who makes his own kimchi from time to time, and, I have to say, Maangchi‘s recipe is one of the best that I have ever seen. I love the fact that, for example, you can either eat it freshly made or wait a few days - if you can wait that long! I am using Maangchi‘s receipt today myself. Now, on to your question about the fish element of kimchi and, whilst a lot of kimchi recipes do contain some sort of fish element (often in the form of shrimp or oysters, neither of which is suitable for someone observing the Jewish dietary laws), a lot of recipes do not contain any fish whatsoever. Obviously, if you’re making the kimchi for a vegan (or a vegetarian who does not eat fish), you’ll leave out the fish element, as well. What the fish element brings to the finished product is a slight, salty-savory undertone (what the Japanese call ‘umami’), but it is not a dominant flavor in the kimchi, so it’s not the end of the world if you don’t want to add any fish element to the dish. If you do want to add a fish element to the dish, definitely consider adding a fillet or two of tinned anchovies to the ingredients that make up the spicy paste that you use to coat the cabbage (I’m looking at a tin of them in my pantry right now and they don’t contain anything that, to my knowledge, would render them non-kosher - it’s just the anchovies themselves, sunflower oil and salt). I’ve also consulted a couple of lists published by Orthodox organizations and they accept anchovies as a kosher fish. No doubt you’ll want to check the kosher status of anchovies for yourself (rather than relying on a stranger via the internet), but, in any event, if you want to keep the fish element of the dish but don’t want to break your dietary laws, anchovies might be the way to go for you. Good luck in the kitchen! Eòghann"
in Traditional napa cabbage kimchi — Oct/18